eARC Book Review: True Born by L.E. Sterling

26114621Goodreads Synopsis

Welcome to Dominion City.

After the great Plague descended, the world population was decimated…and their genetics damaged beyond repair.

The Lasters wait hopelessly for their genes to self-destruct. The Splicers pay for expensive treatments that might prolong their life. The plague-resistant True Borns are as mysterious as they are feared…

And then there’s Lucy Fox and her identical twin sister, Margot. After endless tests, no one wants to reveal what they are.

When Margot disappears, a desperate Lucy has no choice but to put her faith in the True Borns, led by the charismatic Nolan Storm and the beautiful but deadly Jared Price. As Lucy and the True Borns set out to rescue her sister, they stumble upon a vast conspiracy stretching from Dominion’s street preachers to shady Russian tycoons. But why target the Fox sisters?

As they say in Dominion, it’s in the blood.


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

On the state-continent of Nor-Am, Dominion is the biggest and widely populated city. This is where Lucy and Margot, previously-conjoined twins live. Lucy is the ‘timid’ one while Margot is more daring, which leaves Lucy responsible for covering up for her.

There was a great Plague that left behind a mutation, if I could call it that. The world was basically divided into three: Lasters, Splicers and True Born. The Lasters are basically ‘dead men’. The mutation eats them up and they have no money to help them…not that it would help. Once you get the plague, there’s no going back. The Splicers are those that buy themselves more time. They keep paying to have their DNA altered to survive longer. One thing that’s never talked about is True Borns. To be a True Born means to be an abomination.

Nolan Storm and his team – Jared, Penny, Malcolm and Kira are hired to be security detail for Lucy and Margot. After Margot goes missing, that is when the ball really drops.

Characters: I found Lucy to be a bit annoying and since she was the Main Character, I had to deal with that through the entire book. She got whiny at times and I wanted to scream at her. She was seventeen, about to turn eighteen and she was acting like some bratty six year old. That got old real quick. Lucy was kind of stupid. She’d be advised or told ‘don’t move’ and what does she do? She moves and ruins the plan. Also, what I didn’t like was when she and Jared were talking, he mentioned something about how she should go to school so she could be smart and find an Upper Circle guy (he was being insulting, but he had a point) and she replied ‘I don’t have to be smart for that’. Seriously woman! What I really couldn’t stand was that there seemed to be no character development. Lucy started out as a timid, shy character then suddenly she blew up and grew some balls, but she regressed. How does one regress after becoming so confident? And the fact that she never, not once stood up to her parents irks me.

Jared, this guy though. I didn’t like him. He had his moments but they weren’t enough to make me like him. He had some points that he made regarding Lucy, and I’m glad he tried to knock some sense into her. I still thought he was kind of insane.

Rest of the True Borns (good ones) – I liked all of them. I personally feel that the story would’ve been better if there was more of a focus on them. This book is after all called True Born. We learnt their history, which was appreciated, but I feel that they deserved a longer time in the spotlight. I would’ve wanted to know more about their powers. I feel that with there being and Upper Circle and then the True Borns, there was a divide. Lucy and Margo weren’t exclusive to one, and I think that’s what made this story seem like it was all over the place. They never really belonged.

Fox Family/Upper Circle – These people are cruel and vindictive and they’re so secretive, of course everything would blow up in their faces.

Likes: I honestly liked the concept. I liked what the basis of this story was. How being a True Born isn’t in fact a mutation but more of a progression from what being a human is.

Dislikes: I wasn’t a fan of the execution. As I mentioned, the story seemed all over the place. There was no character development and I was confused a lot of the time.

Overall Thoughts: I didn’t hate it though. One thing I expected was for them to actually reveal what Lucy and Margot were. I read the entire book waiting for that moment that never came. It was disappointing. I don’t see myself continuing this series whatsoever.

Read: 2 May 2016
Rating: ★★.75

Publishing Date: 3 May 2016
Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: L.E. Sterling

 

 

5 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: True Born by L.E. Sterling

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: May 2016 (and June TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

