Movie/TV Show vs Book (#7): The Fault in Our Stars

The Book

11870085

The Fault in Our Stars was written by John Green and published in 2012. He dedicated it to Ester Earl who passed away from Cancer. In this book it’s mentioned how a character doesn’t like cancer books and a book shouldn’t be a cancer book…that shouldn’t be the basis for the book and I think that’s what was trying to be said about TFIOS as a whole-that it’s not a cancer book…but it is. It’s in the beginning, the middle and the end. It’s everywhere. It literally takes up all of the book. I loved the book anyway. Even with the whole it’s a cancer-but-not-a-cancer book. I’ve read it about three or four times since I bought my copy a few years ago. I think I bought it a few months after it was published and I remember my Penguin-ish friend told me to read it and after saying ‘no’ ten times, I went and bought it…along with John Green’s other books as well. Sorry not sorry.

The Movie

220px-the_fault_in_our_stars_official_film_posterSource: Image taken from Google Images

Unpopular opinion coming up: I didn’t like the movie. At all. I didn’t watch the movie immediately but waited a while and when I finally did, I kept shaking my head. It wasn’t because the movie didn’t follow the book, it did and I’m happy about that but TFIOS is a big book, in the sense that the topic is no small matter. There are many scenes that John put in that were important and couldn’t possibly be left out. How I felt was that because they wanted all the scenes to be in the movie, they rushed it. I barely recovered from on gut-wrenching scene before the next was there to twist the knife in deeper.

The Decision

The book. Definitely the book in this case. I could read it over and over and still feel as if it were the first time. Here’s a not so secret secret: I cry every time I read it. It’s just…it’s an amazing book okay.

2 thoughts on “Movie/TV Show vs Book (#7): The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I agree! Although I love the film, I don’t feel like it got deep enough into the story, but I guess that is expected with these adaptations. I’ve lost count how many times i’ve read the book though, and still haven’t got bored!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! I was talking about the film and when I mentioned that it followed the book well enough, people were shocked that after having said that I still didn’t like it. I’m planning on reading it again this year!

      Thanks for commenting by the way! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

