Book Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

17208924Goodreads Synopsis

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and lives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.


I’ve been putting off this book for 2 years now and I finally decided to read it as part of a buddy read. Will Grayson, best friends with Tiny Cooper hates attention but unfortunately Tiny is attention personified. It’s not easy being in Tiny’s shadow especially when he seems to push Will into doing things that he doesn’t want to do. Emphasis on ‘seems to’.

Will Grayson (Will 2) has to take medication in order to feel some semblance of okay (actually suffers from depression). He says they’re mood altering pills. He makes it a mission not to care but I think he cared too much and this is why he got hurt.

Will 1 meets Will 2 and so their life starts intertwining. This book was fast, as in, I finished it in a day. I don’t know how, I wasn’t even reading fast but I just noticed that it was nearing the ending quicker than I thought it would.

There are many great aspects about this book, the fact that there can ever be a friendship so profound that a guy would pick his drunken best friend’s nose (gross!) or where you really dislike said best friend but you love him at the same time. Never mind the fact that you meet someone else with the same name as you.

I didn’t like this book much. It was ‘okay’ at best. There weren’t any particulars that I hated, I just feel that this book wasn’t for me. To me, the best part of this book was the musical. I liked that part. I didn’t relate to any of the characters and I didn’t feel myself being drawn to the story. All in all, I’d say it was ‘just another read’ for me.

This was my initiation into the writing of David Levithan and honestly, I could spot certain John Green parts. I mean, I have read 6 of his other works (7 now- I will not be reading the sequel to Zombicorns) so I think I have some knowledge on that front.

I don’t regret reading this book at all since there were parts that I liked but this was nothing to write home about.

“The things you hope for the most are the things that destroy you in the end.”

Read: 28 February 2016
Rating: ★★★1/2

Publication Date: 10 May 2012
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Link to Authors’ Goodreads Pages: John Green | David Levithan

Leave a Reply

