Book Review: Ms. Marvel Vol.1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson

20898019Goodreads Synopsis

Marvel Comics presents the new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation!

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

It’s history in the making from acclaimed writer G. Willow Wilson (Air, Cairo) and beloved artist Adrian Alphona (RUNAWAYS)! Collecting MS. MARVEL (2014) #1-5 and material from ALL-NEW MARVEL NOW! POINT ONE #1.


Kamala Khan is your average muslim sixteen year old girl. The overprotective parents, a mom who wants to know where she is at all times and a dad that refuses to allow her to go to parties because ‘who knows what those boys are thinking?’ Her best friend is also protective and would obviously be the perfect husband if he were Pakistani on account of him working to support his family and getting top grades.

Kamala dreams on being cool and popular -not that she’s not well liked. She thinks that there’s more to life than going to school, going to the mosque and then coming home in time for dinner. Of course, her reasons for thinking this way involves those awesome superheroes we know and love: Iron Man, Captain America, Captain Marvel etc. Kamala seems to her wish granted because suddenly, she too is a superhero!

The way Kamala attains her powers is a bit strange and confusing and I had to squint because I thought I was missing something. I honestly thought that her ‘origin’ story could have been better. Then again, she’s like a Captain Marvel spin-off-hence the name: Ms. Marvel. I let this go for now because funnily enough…as strange as her ‘transformation’ was, the rest of the book is just as strange so nothing was really out of place. I don’t really know if I would classify her as an Inhuman though. It’s possible but again, I have to squint.

Characters: Kamala was an awesome main character. She was sassy, quirky and determined and I really liked her. I liked how they didn’t make it as if she had her powers all along. She couldn’t control them, she had to learn. Also, she was sixteen, so she got grounded. A lot.

Bruno is her best friend (after Nakia of course) and an all around great guy. He’s the one that helps her with her costumes. Super snot comes in handy. I loved how he helped her even while he was telling her that he wasn’t going to help her.

They got everything about the parents right. One of my best friends is Pakistani and I was telling her and another of my friends about this comic book and they were laughing so much. The overprotective parents, not allowed to go to mixed parties, this is all normal for me because I see it everyday. It was nice to see it in a comic book.

What I loved most about this book was that it was understood that Kamala was muslim but she wasn’t called out on it. Of course you get the people who questioned about the best friend, Nakia’s, hijab but that’s neither here nor there.

Once there was a change of languages I had to ask my friend what it meant. In the comic it says that it’s Urdu but my friend-who speaks Urdu, says that it’s Hindi. Sanskrit actually, which is pure Hindi. She asked me: “Why does your comic book look like a grade 5 hindi textbook?”. And when the father mentioned that kamal is arabic for ‘perfection’, I asked another friend who speaks arabic and he said that it’s more of ‘to the fullest’ but we agreed to ignore this because one word in arabic can mean five different things.

The way she got her powers were really weird, but as I said, I’ll let it go…for now. This comic was weird but I wouldn’t mind another go. I liked the diversity that took place. When I found out about this comic, that had a muslim superhero, it immediately went on my TBR. I can’t wait to pick up Volume 2.

Read: 13 April 2016
Rating: ★★★.5

Publication Date: 30 October 2014
Publisher: Marvel
Writer: G. Willow Wilson
Artist: Adrian Alphona

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ms. Marvel Vol.1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: April 2016 (and May TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: 2016 Book Haul (Part 1) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

