Let’s Talk: Patrick Ness

patrick-ness

Patrick Ness is an American author, journalist and lecturer. We of course know him best for his works, The Chaos Walking Trilogy. Patrick Ness has received quite a few awards for his books: The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, Monsters of Men as well as A Monster Calls. The last having been made into a movie (Release date: October 2016).

2118745 6043849 7540092 17928853 17926807 17926802 21969786

17973716 8621462 22910900

BBC has recently announced that Patrick Ness is the writer for the new Doctor Who spin-off series: Class. You can imagine that a Whovian such as myself who is also a fan of Patrick Ness’ writing is thrilled by this. Granted the announcement for the new spin-off was a shock in itself but I didn’t know anything about it until I randomly clicked a video and saw Patrick Ness’ face staring back at me.

My sister read The Knife of Letting Go before me (this seems to happen a lot here, I see) and she kept telling about how amazing it was and what it meant and I thought at that moment that I didn’t want to read about some kid stuck in a desert. Of course, reading the book myself, I discovered that my dismissal was quick and also so so wrong.

I read More Than This last year because after experiencing The Knife of Never Letting Go, I wanted more, something else. I’ve noticed a thing with Patrick Ness’ books. If someone asks you what it’s about, just hand them the book. It’s a better than any explanation you can come up with. He wraps you in so smoothly, you don’t even know it’s happening until you’re well and truly tangled.

My next read from this amazing author is The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It was spoken about a lot last year and it’s a fairly new release so I’m exited. I hope to continue the Chaos Walking trilogy one day and maybe even re-read The Knife of Letting Go because I was so confused, but I was content with my confusion? See, this is what I mean. You have to read the books to get what I’m trying to convey here.

I’d say I can’t wait for Patrick’s other works but I guess I’ll have to see in Class since that counts…kind of. *Cue bubbling excitement that I’ve been holding in since the beginning of this post*

Patrick Ness’: Website | Twitter | Goodreads Page

 

Leave a Reply

