eARC Book Review: A Whole Lot by Bradley Wind

28902258Goodreads Synopsis

Abel Velasco calculates many things. Things like the arc of falling sycamore leaves, the duration of a dog sneeze, or the number of times his aunt might hit him. He can’t help it – he’s a savant.

It is 1982. Abel has left foster care to live with his newly found relatives. His typical teenage struggles are compounded by the complication of his savant talents. Searching for a challenge, Abel becomes obsessed with the mysterious architecture of an abandoned mansion and strangely numbered Bible, launching his journey from suburban New Jersey to Berkeley, California and beyond.

Dr. Darold A. Treffert, author of “Extraordinary People,” consultant for the movie “Rainman” and expert on savant syndrome wrote to Bradley: “Savant syndrome typically is present from birth as a part of some developmental disorder, including autism. But there are also cases of what I call “acquired savant” syndrome following head injury. The Acquired Savant raises interesting questions about the little Rain Man that might reside, perhaps, within us all.”


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

DNF – 16%

I try extremely hard not to DNF a book especially if it’s a book I’m reviewing, even more so when I myself requested the book.

A Whole Lot for me was a bit confusing and of what I could understand, Abel was an extremely smart boy but was often misunderstood because he was ‘different’. This was made clear when he was basically forced to prove himself and accused of cheating. This book holds pretty advanced mathematical talk that I don’t understand at all. I didn’t even like math in school so it was an eye twitching situation for me to constantly be reading about a subject I’m not a fan of.

I’m not sure whether I actually wanted to like this book (I’m being honest). Pretty early on I thought that maybe this wasn’t the book for me. I was more interested in this mansion Abel was going to seek out but the story is quite dragging and I felt that we were never going to get there.

Leave a Reply

