Book Review: Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

23228Goodreads Synopsis

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance.

When Paul meets Noah, he thinks he’s found the one his heart is made for. Until he blows it. The school bookie says the odds are 12-to-1 against him getting Noah back, but Paul’s not giving up without playing his love really loud. His best friend Joni might be drifting away, his other best friend Tony might be dealing with ultra-religious parents, and his ex-boyfriend Kyle might not be going away anytime soon, but sometimes everything needs to fall apart before it can really fit together right.

This is a happy-meaningful romantic comedy about finding love, losing love, and doing what it takes to get love back in a crazy-wonderful world.


This was my first official book of David Levithan’s. I’ve read Will Grayson, Will Grayson but I can’t really count that because I didn’t really experience his work and completely as I would’ve liked. While I don’t know if this is most popular book, it is the most I’ve heard of and I had to start somewhere.

In Boy Meets Boy, we meet Paul who has life so incredibly easy, it’s almost fantasy. He wasn’t a completely unlikable character but there were moments where I thought that he wasn’t the sharpest tool in the shed.

In the beginning of the book, Paul meets Noah and they connect instantly and I squinted a bit because…wow, that was easy. People usually go through a bit of a trial to find someone who they think is perfect and here this guy practically falls into Paul’s lap. Paul is your typical high school student, he’s openly-gay, and he’s one of those popular unpopular types.

This book was published 13 years ago so it’s one of David Levithan’s earlier works so I felt that there was room for improvement. It is addressed in the book how easy Paul’s life is and I had to agree. The guy never had to fight for anything in his life. While not a bad book or story, I wasn’t as in to it as I would’ve liked to be. I do think David Levithan is a good author and I’m not giving up on him because I know that his more recent works have received better reviews.

So maybe Boy Meets Boy wasn’t for me but I liked the concept that was put out. I just didn’t think that it was…fair (I don’t know if that’s the right word) that Paul basically got a perfect life while everyone else faced their problems and Paul’s problems slid off him as if he were resistant.

Read: 6 March 2016
Rating: ★★★

Publication Date: 10 May 2005
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: David Levithan

Leave a Reply

