Movie/TV Show vs Book (#5): The Help

The Book

4667024

The Help is a novel written by Kathryn Stockett and was first published in 2009. This book speaks about and highlights a very important subject that is still going on today- though it might not be exactly the same as the book dictates. When I read the book, at first it took a while to get through but I ended up loving it once I was done. This was nowhere near a light read for me and even now when it’s been more than a year since I read it, it’s still stuck in my head. The life these people went through, the controversy, the distrust…I wish I could say that I wouldn’t want to live in a world like that but unfortunately, we still do. This book is one of those where you know how it ends, you know the struggle going on but you’ll go back to it time and time again. The truth is ugly and many hide from it rather than face it.  I wrote a review for this book. See it here.

The Movie

help_posterSource: Image taken from Google Images

I watched the movie before I read the book and it was because of the movie that I decided to give the book a chance. I don’t like watching movies like this…the same reason why I don’t watch the news. Ignorance is bliss as they say. But as I said above, the truth is ugly. We all have to face it. This movie was really eye-opening. It wasn’t the first of its kind that I’ve watched, but it was the one that really stuck with me. The actresses cast to play the characters were in my opinion, perfect. After I had read the book I had watched snippets of the movie again when it came on TV (I have a habit of reading while I’m watching TV so I never really pay full attention) and the movie was true to the book. I don’t like watching movies because I’m not a fan of staring at a screen for 2 hours and just…sitting there (I take breaks when I watch Series’ episodes too-small attention span). This is one movie I’d watch over and over again- with a reasonable about a breaks between each viewing, but I wouldn’t mind giving it my undivided attention.

The Decision

I think I’d alternate with this. Read the book one time, and watch the movie another. I feel that since the book and movie were the same, I don’t have to choose and that makes me happy. I can have my cake and eat it too.

 

***Note: I have decided to add Anime and Manga to this feature as well since comic books are bound to show up some time.

Leave a Reply

