Let’s Talk…Laurie Halse Anderson

courtesy-laurie-halse-anderson

Laurie Halse Anderson writes novels and stories for people of all ages and sometimes focuses on tough subjects like mental health, sexuality and death…just to name a few. Her novels include Speak, Wintergirls, Twisted and The Impossible Knife of Memory.

439288 5152478 781110 123106 18079527 170171 3002300

6327989 170175 537036 7903786 1616461 207043

Laurie’s novels Speak as well as Chains were National Book Award finalists.

I read Speak back in 2014 and I remember going through it pretty fast. I loved it from beginning to end. It was the first of Laurie’s works that I had read and while I have not read any more as yet I plan to do so soon. For that entire year, Speak was my favourite book and I talked about it day and night. I didn’t know it was a movie until I saw it on TV one day.

My next read of her’s is going to be Wintergirls. Last year, I actively started looking for more Psychological books and those focusing on mental health, suicide situations and things along those lines (I want to be a Psychologist one day- so I was trying to be as informed as I could with the means currently available to me). Laurie’s writing is phenomenal. It stays with you, I mean, it really does. Sometimes I forget a story, or the characters but with what I’ve read so far…I remember that story from beginning to end.

giphy

Laurie’s book have received a few awards over the years but I don’t just a book or an author on whether they’ve received awards or not, including the amount. I read because books make me feel better and they’re extremely educating. Speak is one of my favourite books and I’m glad that my introduction into Laurie’s works was such a good book.

I admire authors like this. The ones who make you feel like you don’t need to hide. Who urge you to speak up and express yourself. I hope that I enjoy her other works that much as well.

Laurie’s: Website | Twitter | Goodreads Page

Leave a Reply

