eARC Book Review: My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul

25695607Goodreads Synopsis

Despite the best of intentions, seventeen-year old, wisecracking Hank Kirby can’t quite seem to catch a break. It’s not that he means to screw things up all the time, it just happens. A lot. Case in point: his attempt to ask out the girl he likes literally goes up in flames when he spells “Prom” in sparklers on her lawn…and nearly burns down her house.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, Peyton Breedlove, a brooding loner and budding pyromaniac, witnesses the whole thing. Much to Hank’s dismay, Peyton takes an interest in him—and his “work.” The two are thrust into an unusual friendship, but their boundaries are tested when Hank learns that Peyton is hiding some dark secrets, secrets that may change everything he thought he knew about Peyton.


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Kind of Crazy was in my opinion, one of those teen romcom movies in which you know how it’s going to end but you watch it anyway because for once you don’t mind a bit of cliche, except this was in book form.

Hank Kirby has the craziest idea for a promposal ever and his plan backfires and proceeds to almost burn a house down…okay that’s an exaggeration, but there was a fire and fires are serious business. At some point during the night of the ‘Incident’ he meets Peyton, someone who might actually be crazier than him and at that moment I decided that she was going to be my favourite character in this book.

“Life and people never live up to expectations.”

Hank wasn’t an all that bright character, but then again he was a teenage boy with nothing on his mind except wanting to take the most popular girl in school to prom-he doesn’t even like prom. He was completely driven by hormones so I didn’t think was a totally good sign, although, the few times he did use his upstairs head, his ideas weren’t so bad. There were a few things I quite liked about Hank. For one, he wasn’t an annoying main character so that was a good thing. While not my favourite, he was quite bearable. When I read the synopsis and I saw that his last name was Kirby, I immediately thought back to Jack Kirby and the fact that Hank liked Marvel better than DC sealed the fact that he wasn’t a complete loss for me.

I really liked Peyton and while she was a bit tough to figure out in the beginning, as the story unfolded, a lot of her actions started to make sense. I respected and valued her quite a bit. She always chose to stand strong but allowed her shields to drop sometimes, which was a good thing.

Hank’s dad wasn’t the best person ever. I felt that since the loss of his wife and son, he’d holed himself up within and refused to come out. Now, I’m not saying that grieving is wrong, there’s no time limit on it, but I felt that Hank’s dad needed to be more sensitive to the people around him and not think that he was the only person who lost people he cared about. At the end, I was assured of his ‘change’ but it was a start so I could give him that.

“There’s more to everyone if you get below the surface.”

For my likes: the plot made sense I didn’t find myself confused at any given point so that’s good. The writing style was really well done and I found myself going with the flow. It wasn’t too fast, or too slow, and there were no points that were rushed. I found this book realistic and the characters were easy to relate to.

As for dislikes: I don’t really have any for this story except that Hank wasn’t all that bright. He wasn’t stupid exactly, but I felt that he put too little thought behind his actions.

The cliche bits got to me slightly. I knew they were coming but they weren’t ‘aww’ moments for me. I think this was a great debut for Robin Reul and wouldn’t mind reading more of her works in the future.

“Sometimes, to help make sense of things, we tell ourselves stories and we convince ourselves that they’re true, but that doesn’t mean they really are.”

Read: 17 March 2016
Rating: ★★★.75

Publication Date: 5 April 2016
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Robin Reul

One thought on “eARC Book Review: My Kind of Crazy by Robin Reul

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: March 2016 (and April TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

