Movie/TV Show vs Book (#4): Dracula

The Book

893791Dracula was written by Bram Stoker, originally published in 1897 and is classed as a Gothic Horror. I recently finished reading Dracula and I liked it quite a bit (See review here). Because of CGI and technology (and in my opinion, the things we see on the streets and news) this story wasn’t as scary as I imagine it used to be. It took me almost a year to finish it but not because I wasn’t enjoying it. It’s a Classic and it takes a while for me to get through them since I feel I have to concentrate a bit more. When I did finish it I let out a breath and realised that I actually really liked the book. I took a chance reading this and I’m glad I did. Also, I listened to the audio version of this book and in the beginning it was mentioned that Tim Curry was one of the readers and I freaked. Little things like this will alway make me smile.

The TV Show

jonathan-rhys-meyers-in-dracula1Source: Image taken from Google Images

There’ve been many adaptations of Dracula but the series that aired on NBC  was the only one I watched. The series was cancelled after only one season. It was a sad time of my life (nothing will compare to the heartbreak I felt when Hannibal was cancelled). I really liked the show and I knew they were going a slightly different direction but what they did with it was in my opinion, amazing. I didn’t know until I had watched the finale that it wasn’t being renewed and for a while I thought I had wasted my time but that feeling went away. It was a good show. It was going places. And the cast was gorgeous.

The Decision

This is actually kind of difficult for me because I genuinely liked both the book and the show. Both of them takes you on this journey and you want to know where they’re going to end up. In the book, you want the good guys to win so that they can all get their happily ever after but in the series, I was rooting for Alexander (Dracula). He was the bad guy but they pulled a Maleficent with him and I wanted him to get his happy ending. Of course, the universe decided on a different kind of ending… I want to leave this ‘Undecided’ but I can’t do that because it’ll be unfair. I need to choose. I think I’ll go for the series just because the characters brought to life, their portrayals, everything was fantastic. Tough decision, but that’s what it is.

Leave a Reply

