eARC Book Review: Unhidden by Dina M. Given


22753787Goodreads Synopsis

It’s not always easy to differentiate between the good guys and the bad guys, especially when your heroine is a trained killer and she may be falling in love with her evil hunter…

Emma Hayes, a former military Special Forces Operative turned mercenary-for-hire, finds her tightly controlled world turned upside down when she is attacked by horrible monsters.

Emma must use every skill in her arsenal to stay alive as she tries to solve the mystery of why she has been targeted. Her list of enemies keeps growing – from Zane Shayde, an evil Mage, to a secret branch of the US government – and she doesn’t know if there is anyone left she can trust.

To complicate matters further, Emma is inexplicably drawn to Zane in a way she doesn’t quite understand, even knowing her life is forfeit if captured. Who is he and why does he have this affect on her? How can she fight a being that calls to her, body and soul?

Emma is left haunted by questions, doubts and fears as to why she has been targeted, when they will come for her next, and how she will possibly be able to survive against an enemy she doesn’t understand.


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Unhidden is a fantasy, action packed novel with a BAMF female lead character that somehow gets mixed up in some strange business.

While this book is classified as Fantasy, I didn’t feel that it was true to it’s genre. The synopsis makes the book sound better than it actually is so I’ll be honest and say right now that I didn’t like this book. At all. I was tempted to give up four chapters in but for the life of me, I continued and I’m still not sure whether that was a good idea or not.

Let’s start with the characters. Emma, the main character, I don’t know what she was trying to achieve but it didn’t actually become clear throughout the book. She was indecisive and thought that she was smarter than everyone else. She’d say one thing and then immediately go and do something else. I couldn’t stand her and this in my opinion was already a bad sign because I still had a whole lot of book to go through with her as the narrator. Jason: I was just annoyed by him. He was one of those ‘nice guys’ who turned sour because he got friend-zoned. There were other men thrown in, Alex and Zane are two of them and I couldn’t get a read on them. Firstly, Emma’s thought for every man in this book is that he’s ‘hot’, that got old real fast. There was a supposed bad guy but he was mostly ‘talked about’ throughout the book so I never really paid attention to him. Yes, he’s the bad guy…but I wasn’t terrified.

For likes and dislikes. I don’t have any likes. I really didn’t like this book so I’m not going to pretend I did. I felt that this barely passed as a fantasy novel so to me that’s misrepresentation. I didn’t like a single character in this book. I will say this too, the thought has crossed my mind that because I disliked this book from the beginning, my entire view was negative from then onwards. This could be true, but my feelings currently are what they are.

I found myself skimming through quite a bit of this book and had to force myself to finish. This begged the question: why didn’t I DNF it? Responsibilities and all that, I guess. One thing that irked me, frustrated me, made me have the biggest WTF expression on my face was that random sex scene thrown in the middle. Excuse me but where on earth did that come from? And it was detailed…I had to skip that completely. It wasn’t like a ‘blushing virgin’ scenario, it was downright weird/awkward and not necessary.

In all on honesty, I found neither the plot nor the concept interesting. Nothing could have saved this story for me. There was no ‘well at least that happened’ at the end. This was an unfortunate read for me.

Read: 12 March 2016
Rating: 

Publication Date: 29 December 2014
Publisher: Team D Enterprises, LLC
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Dina Given

 

 

One thought on “eARC Book Review: Unhidden by Dina M. Given

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: March 2016 (and April TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

