Let’s Talk…Gayle Forman

forman_gayle_940_529_72-ppi

Gayle Forman is the author of the If I Stay duology, Just One Night duology and it’s companion, I Was Here and a few anthologies.

4374400 8492825 17623975 12842134 22021611 18879761 534258

534257 20309175 15792598 23454354

Later this year (September) her newest novel Leave Me is coming out. This is a YA Contemporary that sounds intriguing. I’ve liked her previous works so I’m going to give this one a shot.

28110865

I found out about If I Stay through BookTube and I immediately went to go see what it was about. I bought the boxset and read the books back to back. It was that good. A little while later, I joined in on a buddy read for I Was Here and the difference between the two books made it hard to believe that I was reading the same author. I read her short story in My True Love Gave to Me as well and I think that it’s safe to say that Gayle Forman is on my list of favourite authors.

Her writing is amazing and great and phenomenal and all the things that are good in this world. I feel happy when I read her writing. And sometimes sad, because her scenes are so gripping that when the character cries, I feel it too and tears start pouring. I’ve had a book hangover after all of her stories and I think that’s pretty awesome.

Gayle Forman has quickly made her way up in my books from those authors that I still have to think about to those that I go to without a second thought. Let’s take Just One Day for example. I don’t do the lovey-dovey romance stuff and with the way I’ve heard it described, it doesn’t sound like my kind of book, but it’s Gayle Forman and I’ve felt that way before reading her other books as well and no matter the content, I fell in love. If I Stay had a pretty heavy set of romance in it but did I mind? No, not at all. I think it’s the way she went about it that made me want to continue reading. I love how in her stories, she makes you understand that this is a book that will have romance, but that’s not all the book is.

I Was Here was an amazing book that I squinted at with suspicion before I took a leap of faith and read it (much like what I did with Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick). I ended up loving the book because I too wanted to know how and why. Once again, a pinch of romance but not enough to take over the story. I can’t explain how I felt…this gif below pretty much sums it up:

giphy1

**Random interruption from writer: See? I’m learning. Talk more about the author, how I felt while reading her books. Not just about the book.

I’m excited to read more from her and look forward to getting my hands on Leave Me.

This is most of what I feel about Gayle Forman and her writing. Things to remember: She’s amazing, her talent is amazing, her books are amazing, she’s on my Favourite Authors list.

Gayle Forman’s: Website | Twitter | Goodreads Page

Leave a Reply

