Book Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

13512700Goodreads Synopsis

My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie. I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973. My murderer was a man from our neighborhood. My mother liked his border flowers, and my father talked to him once about fertilizer. This is Susie Salmon. Watching from heaven, Susie sees her happy suburban family devastated by her death, isolated even from one another as they each try to cope with their terrible loss alone


I have no idea what motivated me into picking this book up but I had a rule: if it was on my Goodreads TBR, I’d buy it.

When I read that this was from the murdered girl’s point of view, my brain didn’t connect the dots and I thought it be a…sweet story. Boy, was I wrong.

The Lovely Bones is about Susie Salmon  (no, I will not say ‘like the fish’ although that’s pretty much just what I did). Susie is killed on her way home one night in a corn field near the school. From the get go we know who the killer is and although it’s not described in detail, we know what he did. It was ugly and horrific and the fact that he was so skilled was scary.

Throughout the book I was waiting for the man- a neighbour of Susie’s family- to be caught. There were suspicions but this man was smart about his excuses. Also, it was the 70s, things about people couldn’t be found out in a few minutes.

I liked that this book was from Susie’s point of view. Knowing that she was in heaven and looking down at her family but unable to really communicate with them was what drew me to it. I could’ve read this book in a day if I wanted to since it was pretty quick to get into irregardless of the content.

While not my favourite book, this book does make you stop for a minute and think. I can’t help but think that in today’s times, the murderer would have been caught. Maybe that was the point of setting the book in the 70s.

I enjoyed this book and I’m glad I read it. I might even give the movie a shot as well.

“These were the lovely bones that had grown around my absence: the connections- sometimes tenuous, sometimes made at great cost, but often magnificent- that happened after I was gone.”

Read: 3 March 2016
Rating: ★★★1/2

Publication Date: 2012
Publisher: Picador
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Alice Sebold

One thought on “Book Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: March 2016 (and April TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

