Random Story Time: The Shame of My Writing Life

I’ve been writing since I was 9 years old. I remember my first story was for a school project and featured flowers that could talk. My young mind thought that was okay and it was…until I read the story a few months ago. Yes, I still have it. My mom kept it in a box with all my other school stuff.

The story was about abandonment and sorrow and not being loved enough. As an adult, reading that struck something in me. Looking at it the first time, I was like ‘yay, I’m a writer’. Now, 12 years later as a 21 year old, I’m pretty sure that story was a cry for help. People still said I had talent though so I never really stopped writing. After that I wrote some poems and I still have my book of them but I stopped writing poems and went back to stories. My next story was a flop and I was told it was poop (worse words were used) and I nearly gave up then. When I found out that I passed my Boards back in 2011, I wrote and completed a story in 2 weeks (Where My Heart Is is my second most popular story on Wattpad)

Screen Shot 2016-02-24 at 11.15.37 AM

I’ve been writing a lot since then but last year I kind of hit a rut. I couldn’t find inspiration and nothing was helping. I even took part in NaNoWriMo to help me but I started slacking. I don’t know what happened but it was as if I’d lost my mojo. I even tried writing with BoyxGirl pairings, short stories, random ramblings but nothing worked. I was waiting for something ‘major’ to happen so that I could get some inspiration but still, even when big moments passed, nothing worked.

I didn’t give up, I won’t give up. Sure I had a major case of writer’s block but shouldn’t stop anyone. Inspiration can fly in at any moment and when that idea pops in your head, write it down. One line turns into a paragraph and one day that could be a full story. Hold on to that idea like it’s the edge of a cliff you don’t want to let go of.

giphy3

My writing life is still shameful but I’m making progress. My muse returned to me this month (I was listening to Taylor Swift- so thanks for that) and funnily enough, I’ve been avoiding writing because this story I’m working on is almost finished and it’s a sequel so it’s a huge thing for me. (I never was good at goodbyes) Check out what I do have uploaded of the story so far though: Forgotten Bliss. It’s the sequel to Where My Heart Is, my first published story.

Inspiration has returned but there’s nothing regular about my writing life. I don’t update, I have so many WIPs and a story that needs to be completed because the thought’s there, I just don’t want to face the facts. A writer’s work is never finished.

*Source: Gif taken from Giphy

Leave a Reply

