Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931Goodreads Synopsis

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…


Mare Barrow is a Red but an accident reveals that she has Silver powers. With the divide in this horrible world she lives in, this is seen as something that cannot happen. She’s abnormal, something that should never have been. Because of her unique-ness, it’s decided to hide her true heritage and so starts this wild dance of crazy. I knew then that with so many secrets that have to be kept, this was going to blow up in the hugest way.

I chose this book for the Genre Challenge for February which was Paranormal. I had heard mixed reviews about this book so I was a bit skeptic going in. I didn’t need to worry though, barely 50 pages in and I had already settled my like for this book.

Now, it’s known that I do not like predictability and man does Victoria deliver unpredictability on a silver platter. Sure, some aspects were obvious but who doesn’t throw cliche in once in a while? SPOILER-ISH STUFF COMING!!! I totally had that feeling I had while watching Frozen and Anna and Hans were in that room where he said that line. You know the one. This only happens near the very end so I was like nooooooo!

To me, this book lives up to the hype. I loved it and immediately I knew I was going to need the next book because I just need to know what happens next. The romance aspect of this book is a bit much for what I’d want in a book with this kind of content…warning people, Love Triangle! I was shaking my head about it but it wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been.

The writing though, oh man the writing. The action kept me on my seat. This is what I want when I read. I want to be surprised when I turn the corner. I was to go ‘wow, I did not see that coming’. When I read the first chapter (which is about 12 pages in my copy) in only a few short minutes, I knew this book was going to be a quick one so I did what I usually do…I prolonged it and took my sweet ol’ time reading it. Loved this book, one of the best I read so far this year and I look forward to reading both Glass Sword and Cruel Crown.

Read: 25 February 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 10 February 2015
Publisher: Orion
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

