Movie/TV Show vs Book (#3): Orange is the New Black

 

The Book

6314763

Orange is the New Black was written by Piper Kermin and is the true story of her stay in prison after being convicted for a decade old crime. I remember picking up OITNB because I needed a book that started with an ‘O’ for my A-Z challenge a few years ago. I finished it in a few days and I was a bit weary going in because it’s a memoir and the reviews for it were sketchy at best. It made me think that there were only two ways to feel about this book, either you hate it or you completely love it. I liked it. It’s not my favourite but it’s nowhere near dislike for me. I was on vacation and decided to spend some time reading this. Honestly, it wasn’t as ‘adventurous’ as the TV but I enjoyed the book either way. It was a different take for me since in movies it’s rare to see the inside of a women’s prison. This really put things in perspective.

The TV Show

neek0e9z8uijhh_1Source: Image taken from Google Images

Orange is the New Black is a Netflix original series based on a true story that focuses on Piper Chapman who is sent to prison because of her association with a drug dealer a decade ago.

I randomly started watching this show because I had time and wanted to see what it was about. I loved it immediately. What I loved about this series is that it takes a book, even though it’s true, but it takes it to new levels. We first start out with Piper’s life, how she got here but after a while we start seeing the other character’s lives as well. The guards see them as nothing more than prisoners, but those flashbacks show us that no matter what they did to end up here, they’re still people. It’s hard to really hate anyone that comes through, except Vee, her I do not like.

The Decision

I liked the book, but I won’t read it again. It was part of my ‘read more non-fiction’ challenge that is not totally official. The show though, that’s like a baby that I want to protect and cherish. I didn’t think I’d end up loving it this much. When the last season premiered earlier than was planned, I think the internet broke. That was a wild night. I definitely like the show more. It just adds so much more.

Leave a Reply

