Book Review: Dracula by Bram Stoker

893791Goodreads Synopsis

‘Alone with the dead! I dare not go out, for I can hear the low howl of the wolf through the broken window’

When Jonathan Harker visits Transylvania to help Count Dracula with the purchase of a London house, he makes horrifying discoveries about his client and his castle. Soon afterwards, a number of disturbing incidents unfold in England: an unmanned ship is wrecked at Whitby; strange puncture marks appear on a young woman’s neck; and the inmate of a lunatic asylum raves about the imminent arrival of his ‘Master’. In the ensuing battle of wits between the sinister Count Dracula and a determined group of adversaries, Bram Stoker created a masterpiece of the horror genre, probing deeply into questions of human identity and sanity, and illuminating dark corners of Victorian sexuality and desire.


This took me a while but I pushed through and conquered! No really, I had a buddy read set up for this on the 17th of March and never completed it because classics and I have a love/hate relationship.

Dracula tells the story of a monster that we meet in Transylvania through Jonathan Harker’s perspective. The Count plans on buying a house in London and Jonathan travels to see the client at his home. The book has many different journal entries from different characters in the book that each tell their own story. It seems different in the beginning but as you go on, the pieces all start coming together.

The first half of this book was a bit boring for me, to be honest. I could barely get through it because I felt like I knew the story already and all these words were just unnecessary facts. It picked up quite a bit near the end though and I was glad that even though it took me nearly a year, I completed it.

I did not find Dracula scary or horrifying. I slept quite peacefully that night. I imagine it must’ve been terrifying in it’s earlier days. The writing style was great and I was able to keep up…most of the time. There were a few words that were before my time but I caught on easily enough.

I can see why this book became so popular and I agree that it is great. The scenes were described in the most realistic way and I managed to fall in love with all of the characters. No, not Dracula…him I’ll never like (although, if you think of the TV Show…I could get on board with that).

I really loved this book and I hope that it’s given more of a chance.

Read: 29 January 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 1993 (first published 1897)
Publisher: Wordsworth Editions
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Bram Stoker

Leave a Reply

