Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392Goodreads Synopsis

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


This was a spur of the moment read for me. I randomly joined a buddy read for this even though this book wasn’t on my immediate TBR. It’s books like this, the ones that I never planned to read that takes me by surprise.

All the Bright Places is Jennifer Niven’s first novel in the YA genre and I’ll say that she took it by the horns and showed it what she’s made of. I loved, loved, LOVED this book. Violet Markey blames herself for her sister’s death because she told her to take the bridge instead of going the other way. It’s been months but she still can’t shake the feelings of guilt. Theodore Finch is in my opinion an anomaly. The second I thought I understood him, he changed. He had these different personas and would really get into it. Many thought it was an act, but it became clearer as I read on that he seemed to be bipolar.

Reading this book really made me want to reflect on life and everything. In here it’s shown over and over again how we have a choice. A choice to go on living or give up the fight. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, this is not an easy topic to talk about but we need to.

A quote from the Author’s Note:

“You are not alone.
It is not your fault.
Help is out there.”

This is true and people need to hear it more often. I myself was surprised when the question “What goes through your mind when you feel that way?” was asked. Sometimes we don’t realise it until it’s too late. Not everyone wants help and not everyone gets it when they do go searching. This book really went through me and hit me way deep down.

This book gave me goosebumps because it’s real. This is happening all over and I think that’s what makes the gripping more effective. I’m glad I decided to pick this up after all.

“I am forever changed.”

Trigger Warnings: Mentions of Suicide, Suicide Attempts, Mental Disorders, Physical Abuse

Read: 17 February 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 6 January 2015
Publisher: Knopf
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Jennifer Niven

One thought on “Book Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: February 2016 (and March TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

