Movie/TV Show vs Book (#2): Percy Jackson and the Olympians

The Books

281871 281861The Lightning Thief and The Sea of Monsters are the first two books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series written by Rick Riordan. These books were originally targeted towards the Middle Grade group but as you know, books are books. No one care if you’re 20 and reading a book that the author wrote for 12 year olds. I loved these books, the entire series actually. The way it started out was just amazing and I wished that I’d also get claimed and get to go to Camp Half-Blood. Although, I think I could stand without monsters chasing me because of the way I smell. I read all five books in a week and would gladly read them again. Rick Riordan is one of my favourite authors and the way he writes is just so captivating. I literally thought that I was part of the story. That’s pretty awesome. Percy Jackson goes on these crazy missions that are so incredibly dangerous. Remember, he was 12 years old when this series started. I liked that as he grew up, the readers could grow up with him. Every summer, we got to see what new adventure he went on.

The Movies

movie_percyjackson2Source: Images taken from Google Images percy-jackson-sea-of-monsters-cover

The first two books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians were made into movies and as someone who watched the first movie without having read the book…it was good. Basically the movies were great if you had no prior knowledge and nothing to base it on. Watching the movies after reading the books was just a disappointment. I still like them, but the fact that it added things that weren’t supposed to be there and could possibly count as spoilers was what the problem for me was. I’d still watch these movies today because the action scenes were great, and ignoring the changes, it still brought some of my favourite characters to life. There was supposed to be a third movie but of course that never happened. I don’t think I would have been able to survive that one. I for one know I’m not the only one who had a problem with this. Oh well, either way, the books and movies aren’t going anywhere.

The Decision

The books, definitely the books. As I said, we grew as Percy grew and I loved that about it. Besides, after The Last Olympian, we get a spin-off series The Heroes of Olympus which makes everything better. The movies were great, nice to watch, but the books just make me feel more connected to the characters. In all honesty, especially when a series/book is so popular, I can’t imagine that it’d be easy to bring that character to life the way the fans see them. It’s a tall order really.

 

Leave a Reply

