Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


23874708Goodreads Synopsis

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.


Okay, so this book is genuinely worth the hype. Yes, that’s a true fact. Talk about this book was making it’s way through Instagram weeks before it was published and the reviews I had heard were mostly good so that made me slighly skeptic. How can a book be that good that one out of ten would rate it ‘average’? A buddy read came along so I decided to find out what was so fantastic about this book.

Everything, Everything is about a girl- Madeline Whittier- who suffers from SCID (Severe combined immunodeficiency). She can’t go outside because basically…she’d die and she’s constantly monitored to make sure that she’s healthy enough to go on living. When I read those first few chapters of her explaining the illness, I was reminded of Bubble Boy. There were initial similarities but obviously, the stories aren’t the same.

What I liked about this book was the pace. At times it was a bit fast but that didn’t bother. I felt that if we went through every single day of Madeline’s life, we’d be bored. Props to her for being a bookworm though. I love it when the character I’m reading about loves books as well. Maddy grew up in a loving environment and didn’t seem to want for anything…until of course Olly arrives. *Sigh* It’s always a boy.

This brings me to what I didn’t like about the book. Sure, it usually takes someone else for us to realise that we want something or need to change but the fact that it took a boy moving in next door irked me a bit. It is mentioned in the book that Olly might be a default for Maddy because she’s never known anyone else and even though it was written off, I continued to feel this way till the end of the book. That’s basically why I notched off 1 star from the rating. How I saw it was: Maddy hears sounds, looks out the window and sees a moving van. She sees a boy being ridiculous and practically falls in love immediately.

Of course, by the end I knew what was going to happen because it became so predictable. I continued reading because I actually wanted to see it through to the end. I didn’t have that sense of completion. It was more of a ‘meh’ situation. The ending, I mean. Overall, the book was good, I’d give it that. Nicola Yoon certainly has talent for writing and I think that for a debut novel, this was great.

Read: 9 February 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 1 September 2015
Publisher: Delacorte
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Nicola Yoon

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

    • My feelings for this book has been fluctuating since I put it down but I think I’m going to stick to this rating. I’m not a fan of romance so most times I try to look past that. Thanks though, and for commenting.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: February 2016 (and March TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

