Expected Releases for February 2016

2 February
256890741Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles 0.5, 0.6, 1.5, 3.1, 3.6) – Marissa Meyer

YES! YES! YES! ALL THE YESES! A while ago I wanted to read 0.5 but I didn’t go in search for it because I had a feeling that if there were enough we might be lucky and get it in a collected edition. Many authors are doing that lately, it’s great. Please continue. I need me some Lunar Chronicles extras in my life.


226927401Symptoms of Being Human – Jeff Garvin

Doesn’t this cover remind you of Wonder by R.J. Palacio? Because that’s what I’m thinking. I’m really excited about this book. I’m sure there are a few out there but I’ve never read a book that focuses on gender fluidity. I’m hoping my bookstore has this in stock soon because This is probably my most anticipated release of the month.


217931821Starflight (Starflight #1) – Melissa Landers

I feel like 2016 is going to be the year where I read so many books by authors I’ve never read before. I’ve been eyeing Alienated for a while now but never got to it because arguing with my TBR is pointless. This book is space. Just space everywhere and I love it.

***

9 February

231742741

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) – Victoria Aveyard

The sequel to Red Queen! Yay! I have not read the first book yet because have you seen 2015? There were books everywhere. I plan on reading it soon though…once my reading life is sorted out. The hype over Red Queen was so big and the reviews focusing on Glass Sword are…well they’re active. I’d have to see for myself what I think but so far, I’m feeling positive.


189668061 Morning Star (Red Rising #3) – Pierce Brown

This is the conclusion to the Red Rising Trilogy. Let me just say that the hype for this book is real. I haven’t even started this trilogy and I feel like jumping on the hype train. Come on! Revolution? Everyone wants a revolution in books. Let’s get this show on the road. My bags are packed.



246576601Reign of Shadows (Reign of Shadows #1) – Sophie Jordan

How ridiculously gorgeous is this cover? At first glance, it reminds me of Splintered’s cover but taking in more of the detail I honestly think this one is prettier. The reviews state that this is loosely based off rapunzel and since I adore Rapunzel I’d read almost anything that’s about her/her story…you catch my drift.

***

16 February 2016

157044861

Calamity (Reckoners #3) – Brandon Sanderson

I first heard about Brandon Sanderson I think a year and a half ago and drifted towards the Reckoners first. No, I haven’t started it but I will soon. Maybe next month even. Who knows? He was in a neighbouring town last year and I was bummed that I couldn’t see him because I hadn’t read any of his books. A pity really.


The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire #1) – C.J. Redwine232995131

We’re looking at quite a few retellings. I think this is going to stay for a while. But I’m not complaining. No sir! I don’t recall reading a Snow White retelling. I look forward to seeing how the author adapted the story. I’ve heard of C.J. Redwine but I haven’t read anything by her. Well, colour me exited!


 

234304711Riders (Riders #1) – Veronica Rossi

We all know Veronica Rossi as the author of Under the Never Sky. I personally have not read a book by her yet but she’s on my list. Can we talk about the cover of this book for a moment? It’s gorgeous. I saw it in a pic on Instagram the other day and it looks like it’ll be great in my bookshelf.



21979832 The Girl from Everywhere (The Girl from Everywhere #1) – Heidi Heilig

What do you get what you mix time travel and a pirate ship. A rocking party, that’s what. I read the first two lines and those words stood out for me. I was hooked and immediately felt the need to read this book. I love historical fiction and this book seems to be perfect for me. Once again, pirate ship! I can’t wait to see what the author has in store for us with this one.


256139391The Word for Yes – Claire Needell

This is Claire Needell’s first novel and it’s about sisters. It’s said to be a realistic fiction, and we all know we need more of those in our lives. In this novel, these sisters’ lives are turned upside down in the wake of their parents’ divorce. I’m really interested in seeing how this novel plays out and can’t wait to finally read it.


267783301

Grumpy Cat Volume 1 by Ben McCool

This book was so awesome I cried laughing tears. It was amazing in every way and I think this could easily be my cheer up comic for the moment. Grumpy was great, Pokey was hilarious. Both the writing and the art were tops! Loved every page of this. You can see my review here.

***

23 February

A Gathering of Shadows FinalA Gathering of Shadows (A Darker Shade of Magic #2) – V.E. Schwab

I have not read A Darker Shade of Magic but I really want to. V.E. Schwab is- what I’ve heard- a great author and her novel Vicious is quite popular. As my belief goes, if there’s a sequel, the first book had to be good. I’m glad that fantasy is my favourite genre because I feel that so much can come from it.

***

24 February


27414945Homesick at Space Camp – Francis Gideon

Androids and Space. That is all. This was great and amazing and even with the adult content near the end, it was adorable. I think I’m in love with this book. Can one be in love with a book? I don’t know what else to call this feeling.

4 thoughts on “Expected Releases for February 2016

Leave a Reply

