eARC Book Review: Broken by Susanne Valenti

img_0592Goodreads Synopsis

Since all of her hopes were dashed, Maya is struggling to adapt to her new life. Where dreams and wishes once kept her going now there is only the burning desire for revenge. She’s changing, hardening into the person she needs to be to hold it together but sometimes the cracks still show. She wants nothing more than to go back and become the person she used to be but sometimes she can’t even remember who that was. Nothing will be right again until she resets the balance. Blood will pay for blood and she won’t give up until the final drop has been spilled. Some say she’s taking it too far, others say it isn’t far enough.


I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Spoiler Warning: There might be spoilers of the previous books in this review. I’ll try to make it as spoiler-free as possible but I make no promises.

Broken is the third book in the Cage of Lies series and the fourth book I’ve read of Susanne Valenti.

It’s been 6 months since the events of Linked that left us with a major cliffhanger. Maya and Alicia are out for blood and everyone else is just trying to get by and keep the families safe.

The first few chapters of the book, I found that the planning and working up a bit slow. Of course every action scene that came after made up for it in abundance. One again, Susanne has made me talk out loud to myself and yell at the characters. I loved being reacquainted with the gang. In my own honest opinion, I felt that Maya and Alicia’s need for revenge was a bit out of hand. It’s all they thought about and it often got them in trouble. Crystal wasn’t as bad as before and I found myself actually liking her in this book.

My feelings throughout this book were all over the place. I can barely explain it. This wasn’t my favourite of the books but it sure had it’s highlights. There were moments when I smiled and sighed and I was so happy that something good was happening, then of course something bad would be waiting in a few pages.

Susanne Valenti’s writing style will always amaze me and I’m sure in the future I’ll jump at anything that has her name on it. Besides the long planning parts, the rest of the book picked up rather well. The way she describes her scenes are as if it’s happening right in front of you. Overall, great read and I can’t wait to see what’s next.

Read: 31 Janauary 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮1/2

Publication Date: 31 January 2016
Publisher: Kdp
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Susanne Valenti

 

3 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: Broken by Susanne Valenti

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2016 (and February TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: eARC Book Review: Embers by Susanne Valenti | Diminishing Thoughts

  3. Pingback: eARC Book Review: Bound by Susanne Valenti | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

