eARC Book Review: HELP ME! by Donna M. Zadunajsky


DLL-POSTER徐静蕾竖Path Goodreads Synopsis

A novella about a boy named Mick and his struggles with life. His parent’s divorce and a friend’s suicide make his world unbearable. Each “cut” has a deeper meaning. A cry for help.
“I spin my dad’s Ruger SP101 revolver on the wood floor of my bedroom. Sometimes, just to see what it feels like, I place the tip of the gun against my temple, but I never once pull the trigger. NO!”
“I’m more into the slice of the blade against my skin and the blood running down my arm.”
“It relieves so much pressure.”
“And I can breathe again…”


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

HELP ME! is a short novella that focuses on bullying, suicidal thoughts and the effects thereof. The synopsis of this book is what drew me in and I thought it’d be like any other book of this kind but I was sorely mistaken. No one’s situation is the same and this book proves that.

The fact that this revolved around kids as young as thirteen scared me because it may be a sad unfortunate fact that this happens amongst many teens, but for people so young to have these feelings was a terrifying thought.

The detail in which the writer goes in was to me, cringe worthy. The mind is a strange and powerful thing and can concoct up the most vivid of pictures. There is no saying what can help a person who feels this way and this book clearly highlights that. There’s definitely a wrong way to react, but I don’t think there can ever be a right way because in the end, it’s up to the person on whether they choose to go ahead with what their bullies and thoughts are taunting them to do.

The writer really put things into perspective and this is really a scary but serious topic that shouldn’t be mocked or ridiculed.

The writing style was amazing and the details were described extremely well, as I said earlier: cringe worthy.

Read: 17 January 2016
Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 30 December 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Donna M. Zadunajsky

4 thoughts on “eARC Book Review: HELP ME! by Donna M. Zadunajsky

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2016 (and February TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

  2. Pingback: Wrap Up: January 2016 (and February TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

