RIP: Alan Rickman

We take a moment’s break from the posting schedule to mourn a legend. Alan Rickman has been confirmed dead at the age of 69 from cancer.

9349261

This wasn’t going to be a full length post because well yea, but I figured that writing about it will make the situation a tad bit better. What better way to mourn than to remember him as he was right?

P.S This will be mostly Harry Potter centered because no.1 That’s where I know him from and no.2 why not?

I watched the first Harry Potter movie when I was eleven years old and knew absolutely nothing about the series. When Harry sat down at his seat and Snape gave him that ‘look’ I had wondered what was up that ‘that guy’. As the years went on and I watched more of the movies, my dislike for Snape was just that. Dislike. I thought it was normal because who doesn’t hate the guy that treats the main character like dung right? When OoTP came out, I decided to read The Deathly Hallows and proceeded in reading it more than once before the movie came out. Upon reading that book, Snape became my favourite character and nothing and no one was able to change my mind.

I’ve been told that had I read the sixth book before the seventh, I would have felt that hatred most fans felt. When I did end up reading HBP, I found that with the knowledge of Snape’s true alliance and feelings, I still couldn’t hate him. I’ve defended him countless times and I’d continue doing so.

**I have to go to an aunt’s house tonight but I think that when I get home, I’m going to watch HBP and The Deathly Hallows movies and maybe re-read The Deathly Hallows as an homage to Severus Snape.

Now for something not Harry Potter related, Love Actually has recently become my favourite Christmas movie and I’ve succeeded in watching it 2 years in a row now. I hope to continue this tradition one day because that is a good movie, I don’t care what anyone says. Alan Rickman’s role as Harry was just so perfect, I had to laugh at the little smirks he’d give and how he played matchmaker for Sarah.

In Sweeney Todd, I cringed and covered my eyes because…you know that feeling when you like someone and they’re being judged for something and they might be bad at it so you feel bad to because now they don’t seem as perfect as you said they were? Yea, I had that feeling when Alan’s singing part came up but no! He’s perfect and he nailed it! I was just singing the song about 2 weeks ago because that’s what I do when I’m in La La Land.

Marvin from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was so morbid and grumpy and sarcastic, I loved him. When I first watched the movie I wasn’t exactly looking at the screen when Marvin came strolling in but my head jerked up because of the voice. Alan Rickman was always no.1 on my list of ‘People I’d want to read me a bedtime story’.

There are other movies I watched that Alan Rickman acted in but these were the ones that always stood out to me.

Farewell Alan Rickman. You’ll always be in my heart. 😥

 

One thought on “RIP: Alan Rickman

  1. Pingback: Random Story Time: Severus Snape. Favourite Character? Yes please. | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

