Book Review: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Goodreads Synopsis

The war against Voldemort is not going well; even Muggle governments are noticing. Ron scans the obituary pages of the Daily Prophet, looking for familiar names. Dumbledore is absent from Hogwarts for long stretches of time, and the Order of the Phoenix has already suffered losses.
And yet…

As in all wars, life goes on. Sixth-year students learn to Apparate — and lose a few eyebrows in the process. The Weasley twins expand their business. Teenagers flirt and fight and fall in love. Classes are never straightforward, though Harry receives some extraordinary help from the mysterious Half-Blood Prince.

So it’s the home front that takes center stage in the multilayered sixth installment of the story of Harry Potter. Here at Hogwarts, Harry will search for the full and complex story of the boy who became Lord Voldemort — and thereby find what may be his only vulnerability.


I have finally read this book! It took me two months due to my procrastinating and all around lazy behaviour. *Deep breaths* I need air, I need a doctor, I just NEED!

I decided to review this book because I read books 1-5 after I had already seen the movies. I read book 7 a few months before the movies-twice and it still remains my favourite in the series. I was told that if I had read the books in order I would have experienced the hate every one else felt for Severus Snape, but since I read The Deathly Hallows first, my mind was already made up about him. I will admit that it was the last book that tipped my decision over the edge and confirmed that Snape is indeed my favourite Harry Potter Character but I had liked him throughout the series. I don’t know, maybe I like snarky people.

Most of us know how this plays out, but I’ll go through it for those who don’t know. After the events of Book Five, the Wizarding World finally believes that Voldemort has returned. The war rages on and it doesn’t seem to be ending any time soon. Dumbledore reveals to Harry his ideas about Voldemort’s rise to power and how he believes to weaken him. Since the prophecy was heard, Harry now knows that either he himself must kill Voldemort, or Voldemort must kill him.

I had never paid attention to the movie. It was the one that I couldn’t understand and I’m glad that now all that is sorted out. I get it now. There were so many things put in perspective for me. It was as if I were experiencing it all for the first time.

“It is the unknown we fear when we look upon death and darkness, nothing more.”

Dumbledore’s unwavering faith in Severus made Harry so angry. I mean, we know that Harry’s anger is a force to be reckoned with, but there was no explaining why Dumbledore refused to believe that Severus could do no wrong.

Harry’s obsession with Draco made me roll my eyes. It wasn’t so bad in the movie but in the book! He was Malfoy this, Malfoy that. I started feeling Hermione and Ron’s pain pretty early on.

When that climax approached, I was worried. I knew it was going to happen, I knew how it was going to play out. I was worried that maybe my love/like/admiration-whatever- for Severus would go away. I was legit scared. No lie. It came and went and I still didn’t hate him. I understand everyone’s anger, I understand how it’s clear that there was major betrayal involved but as I said, my mind was already made up about him.

I’m glad I read this book. With this book, I have no completed the entire Harry Potter series. I’ll probably re-watch HBP because Alan Rickman made the perfect Snape. It’s been fun and I’ll probably marathon this series sometime in the near future because who can resist the Harry Potter series.

Read: 30 November 2015
Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 1 January 2005
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

