Let’s Talk…Stephenie Meyer

Stephenie Meyer is the author of the highly famous Twilight Saga and The Host. She has written four books in the Twilight Saga along with a companion novella and recently released a gender-swapped version of Twilight called Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined (Review here)

     

    

The Twilight Saga is an extremely well known series that everyone and their cat’s uncle has heard off. There was a time when it was impossible to escape the clutches of this series.

The first book, Twilight, was originally published in 2005 but I don’t remember the hype getting really big until about 2008-09. I think I was in grade 9 and I was in my ‘Vampires are everything so I’ll read any books that feature them’ phase. I honestly can’t remember what made me want to buy the books but I went to the store and begged my mom to buy them all and after a lot of promises, she got them for me (That’s not so bad, I did the same thing for The Vampire Diaries). Anyway, back to the story, I read all four of those books in about a week- which was super fast for me- and gushed about how amazing and gorgeous and awesome Edward Cullen was (I seemed to be one of the very few- because as I was fawning over Edward, my friend was drooling over Jace Wayland) The movie came out and I was a glorified Team Edward girl, when New Moon came out, that obviously changed for me, because Jacob was it for me.

I think it was soon after the New Moon movie came out when I stopped liking the series. It was mainly due to peer pressure and I relented. I didn’t see the need to fight because to me, popularity in high school was everything. I even took down my Twilight posters. Because I started the series, I had to finish it and for my friends birthday in senior year, we went to go see Breaking Dawn Part 2. My love for the series was sparked again but I left it as it was. It wasn’t until I re-watched Breaking Dawn (both parts) twice last year that I thought about going back to the series. I plan on doing a Twilight Saga re-read next year just to relive it all. Since it’s been about 7 years since I last read it.

giphy2

Stephenie Meyer has written a series that has touched so many peoples’ hearts and has kickstarted so many bookworms’ love for reading- mine included. There may have been major controversy with the books but there were fans who stayed true and I admire them. Really, I do. Her book, The Host has become a lot of people’s favourite book. I myself have not read it, and I don’t think I will anytime soon, but people who have read it say that it was one of the best they’ve read and swear it to be a more inviting read than Twilight. I wouldn’t know of course.

Her recent release for the Tenth Anniversary of Twilight came along with Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined which is a gender-swapped version of Twilight. I feel that her writing had definitely improved over the years and she definitely closed over the holes and made the story seem more believable to me.

I could say that where I stand now with Stephenie’s books, we have a love/hate relationship. Sometimes I want to clutch the book to my chest and never let go, other times I want to throw it against the wall. (I won’t do that. Imagine the nerve! To throw a precious jewel such as a book against a wall) With how her writing has improved and what she has achieved, I might actually look into her new works she plans on doing.

Stephenie Meyer’s Website | Goodreads

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk…Stephenie Meyer

Leave a Reply

