Book Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

180099501 Goodreads Synopsis

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.


 

I read this book as part of the November read for the Genre Challenge: Thriller. To be honest, I read this because I thought it’d be a quick read and I liked what was said in the synopsis.

Max Cantrell is an adopted kid that in my opinion got unlucky and mixed up in some bad stuff. The story starts out easy enough. He purposely gets into trouble so that he can spend time with his girlfriend and that kickstarts Liars, Inc. Max and his friends lie and cover for other students so that they don’t get into trouble- with a price of course.

I found the story up until this point to be normal and smooth sailing. I should mention that I had by accident neglected to read the ‘prologue’? So I didn’t know that there was going to be some problems with Preston until I was flipping through the pages and came upon it. This added some ‘spice’ to the story that made it better. I didn’t really like this story, just enough to keep me going till the end. There was a promising plot line and the story didn’t fall dead. It’s not always that I read stories like this and it’s focusing on teenagers in high school. I liked that the author brought something new to the table for me, that is.

This was filled with lies- ironically- and betrayal and I admit that there was a dose of unpredictability but honestly, if I were paying attention one hundred percent I would have been able to sniff out the culprit. Still a good read and it was written fairly well. Perhaps I wasn’t in the mood to read a book of this kind at the time. There were aspects I enjoyed which greatly outweighed the ones I disliked and that’s why I rated it 3 stars.

I have heard about this author before and I haven’t given up. Her writing style is something that I actually like and I might have a look into her other books. Liars, Inc. was neither here nor there for me though.

Read: 3 December 2015
Rating: ✮✮✮

Publication Date: 24 March 2015
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Paula Stokes

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

  1. Pingback: Wrap Up: December 2015 (and January TBR) | Diminishing Thoughts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s