Book Review: The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan & Maureen Johnson

Goodreads Synopsis

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.


  • What Really Happened in Peru

Somewhere in TMI it was mentioned in passing that Magnus was banned from Peru and it raised an eyebrow or two. I found this story short and sweet and somewhat hilarious. It’s always a joy to see the relationship between Ragnor and Magnus. It was nice to see Catarina from a different view point as well.

Rating: ✮✮✮

  • The Runaway Queen

Obviously by the title we know that this involves a Queen. This story takes place quite a while after the events in Peru. I did not enjoy this as much as the first story but it had it’s moments. There’s adventure, there’s trouble -as there always is- and there’s a moment or two that made me want to grab a tissue but alas, not my favourite.

Rating: ✮✮1/2

  • Vampires, Scones and Edmund Herondale

Everybody loves a Herondale. Edmund is Will’s father and it was refreshing to see further into the past. I really liked this story. It broke my heart near the end and I felt exactly what Magnus was feeling. It was heartbreaking. I loved that we got to see that most Herondales (if not all) are the same. They can’t be tamed. Camille made an appearance too but let me not dwell on that.

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

  • The Midnight Heir

Characters from TID makes an appearance in this story. I loved seeing where their lives went. (We’ll see more in TLH. My patience is slowly diminishing) I won’t go through this story too much because I feel like it was somewhat an insight into what we can expect from TLH.

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

  • The Rise of the Hotel Dumort

Camille Belcourt is not my favourite vampire in this series nor will she ever be. In ‘Vampires, Scones and Edmund Herondale’, we see a different side of her but that doesn’t last long and the end inevitable. She’s sneaky and somewhat evil but that’s who she is, I guess.

Rating: ✮✮✮

  • Saving Raphael Santiago

I adore Raphael. He has that bold character that I loved reading. Dare I say that Raphael in my books rates higher than Simon? Yes, I dare. Maybe it’s his bad-boy-I-don’t-care act that he’s got going. I just think he’s amazing.

Rating: ✮✮✮1/2

  • The Fall of the Hotel Dumort

What goes up must come down. This was bad. Not the story, the situation. It was chaos in a way that one would never wish to see. I always thought of vampires as being regal and in this story they were like misbehaved children on a sugar high.

Rating: ✮✮✮1/2

  • What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway)

Malec! Malec everywhere. The fangirl in me was screaming through this entire story. It was sweet, and adorable and seeing Magnus so lost and flustered was the best thing ever.

Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

  • The Last Stand of the New York Institute

I had hoped, but I wasn’t actually expecting anything related to the Circle to be included in this collection. I’m glad we got to see what kind of happened. Valentine is just…I’m glad he’s gone.

Rating: ✮✮✮1/2

  • The Course of True Love (And First Dates)

I was smiling, I was cooing. I think I probably said ‘Aww’ out loud a few times too. This was great in so many ways. The way they complemented each other. Magnus and Alec are just perfect. That last line about the heart breaking killed me.

Rating: ✮✮✮✮

  • The Voicemail of Magnus Bane

I always wanted to know what everyone said in their calls. Isabelle’s messages were amazing. The tones of everyone’s voices sometimes made me laugh but I think the message got through.

Rating: ✮✮✮✮


All in all, I really loved what this collection of stories had to offer. It was a good refresher since finishing City of Heavenly Fire earlier this year and for me, worked as a great in between read for Lady Midnight next year.

As I read certain stories and saw how Magnus fell in love with many people, I took note of the fact that he fell hard. Many of his partners were mortal and he would survive them. It broke my heart knowing that he knew this and still he gave his all. This is why he was my favourite character in TMI. He had so much to offer, so much to give.

The characters that popped in from time to time were also an added bonus. I adored each moment. I feel so happy now that I’ve completed this. These three authors complemented each other so well. Their stories all blended together to make the perfect piece. I loved it.

Read: 25 October 2015
Overall Rating: ✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 11 November 2014
Link to Authors’ Goodreads Pages: Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson

Leave a Reply

