eARC Book Review: Come Sit by Me by Thomas Hoobler

Goodreads Synopsis

The boy who shot seven people in the school library is dead. But did his secrets die with him?

Something terrible happened at Hamilton High last year, and those who survived don’t want to relive the past. But Paul has just arrived, and gets the same locker that the shooter used. He wants to know what really happened…and you know what curiosity did to the cat.


I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Come Sit by Me is a novel that mainly focuses on a school shooting that happened a year ago. It didn’t have to focus on that, but the main character was obsessed.

I have never read a book about a topic like this before so I looked forward to getting into it. This is a tough topic that I don’t think would be easy to write no matter who the writer is.

Paul Sullivan- the main character- transfers to a new school where a school shooting took place and unfortunately for him, happens to get the shooter’s -Cale- old locker. This opens up a whole can of worms that people told him to leave alone but his ear drums must’ve been busted because he ignores it completely.

I didn’t like the characters all that much. Something or the other always seemed to bother me about them. I found myself rolling my eyes quite a bit. Also, it took me more than a month to finish this book and usually it’s because I’m busy but this time it was because I couldn’t get into this book.

North- a guy that oozes aggressiveness, and a need to always be in charge- believes that if everyone carried guns, they’ll have a chance at defending themselves. I understand the point, but I disagree. Opinions differ and all that.

I really didn’t like the book. I won’t say that I can’t relate to it because in cases like this, I wouldn’t want to. This book is not about being relatable. I don’t know what this story was supposed to achieve. Paul was a sex-crazed teenager that opened up old wounds just because he was curious, which I don’t think is a good reason to do something.

This was a sad topic but I felt like the killer was being ‘glorified’- if that’s a word I could use. No one wants to remember the person who committed such a horrible act and in this case, the person in question is dead. All people want is to know that justice has been served, and here it has. Paul brings Cale up constantly and forces everyone to remember, which I thought was insensitive of him.

I’m glad I finally managed to finish this book, no matter how long it took. It certainly seemed a lot longer than it actually was.

Read: 18 October 2015
Rating: ✮✮1/2

Publication Date: 22 July 2015
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Thomas Hoobler

Leave a Reply

