Book Review: World After by Susan Ee

Goodreads Synopsis

In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister, Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?


This review might contain spoilers to the first book in the series. See my review of Angelfall here.

In Angelfall we meet Penryn who happens across an injured angel while her family is trying to get to safety. She and Raffe- the angel (guess what that’s short for)- battle their way through situations so that they can get to the Aerie- Angel Headquarters.

In World After we’re found immediately where the events of Angelfall left off. This book brings even more action and adventure than the first book. It’s said many times that the sequel is hardly as good as it’s predecessor but I think the opposite is true for Penryn & the End of Days Trilogy. It just keeps getting better.

What I truly loved about this book was that it wasn’t rushed. Everything was paced perfectly and the book wasn’t even that long. I’m amazed that Susan Ee could put so much in a book that’s considered tiny to other books of this genre. I don’t think there’s anything I disliked about this book. Ignore the 4* rating. There must have been a reason for that. Give me a break. I finished this book at 5am. Also, Dee and Dum are everything I need in life.

I like the idea of Angels not being the good warriors who fight for man. As I mentioned in my review of Angelfall, this series is Angels vs. Demons and Both vs. Humanity. So it’s more than clear that humans are the enemy.

Also, RAFFE!! I have so much love for this character. I just want to reach into the book and give him an awkward hug. Who would’ve thought that Raphael, the second most powerful archangel in Heaven (Michael, Raphael, Gabriel- we’re not counting Lucifer. He’s not in heaven. I’m not even sure how many archangels there are.) is so…I can’t find the words. I understand he has a duty and he believes in what he was taught and the rules and blah blah, but I can also see that he’s fighting. I’ll honestly be happy with whatever he chooses, I just want him to not die.

I can’t wait to get End of Days. I need it like I need ginger cookies (a lot).

Read: 25 September 2015
Rating: 💀💀💀💀

Publication Date: 19 November 2013
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

