Book Review: A Dysfunctional Life by Kari Nichols

Goodreads Synopsis

A Dysfunctional Life is a compilation of short stories about eight individuals dealing with serious life struggles. A woman fighting an eating disorder. A man coping with the end of a close relationship. A mother mourning separation from her daughter. Every life is cloaked in sadness, but it’s up to each individual to figure out how to cope and move on.


I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book starts out powerful. It was 3am when I finished the first story and my eyes were wide with the terrifying image it put in my brain that I decided to put it off till the sun was shining.

A mother, a daughter, a son, a best friend, a girl friend, a sister. All these stories seem unconnected at first but slowly I started putting the pieces together.

Kari Nichols’ writing was amazing and the characters’ stories grasp you so tightly, you can’t get free. I was confused but all that was laid to rest as I continued reading.

These stories show other peoples’ pain and suffering. How they’re trying to get better and move on. It shows how certain things you’ve believed for a long time can change in an instant.

I enjoyed this book a lot. It was a quick read and I liked the way it started and ended. It was the final pieces coming together for me. There is no question of ‘what happens next?’.

Warnings: mentions of violence, gore, sex, suicide, mental illness and eating disorders.

Read: 30 August 2015
Rating: ✮✮✮✮✮

Publication Date: 15 March 2015
Link to Author’s Goodreads Page: Kari Nichols

Leave a Reply

